REGULAR MEETING (2) DECEMBER 28TH, 2022 5:00 P.M. KENTLAND TOWN HALL

Attending: Debby Shufflebarger, President, James Sammons and David Michael Rowe, Council Members, Rebecca Goddard, Attorney and Judy King, Clerk/Treasurer

The meeting opened by saying the Pledge of Allegiance

A motion was made by Mike Rowe and seconded by James Sammons to appoint Debby Shufflebarger, President for 2023.

A motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Mike Rowe to appoint Debby Shufflebarger on the K-IRPC Board for 2023.

A motion was made by Debby Shufflebarger and seconded by James Sammons to appoint Chandlor Weiss-Brinkman to the Northwest Indiana Solid Waste District Board.

A motion was made by Debby Shufflebarger and seconded by James Sammons to appoint Michael Rowe to the Newton County Economic Development Board.

BUILDING COMMISSIONER:

Matt Wittenborn had nothing to report

TOWN MANAGER:

Ricky Hughes had nothing to report

POLICE CHIEF:

Julian Elson had nothing to report

FIRE CHIEF:

Matt Wittenborn reported on the following:

About \$60,000.00 should be coming in soon from billing of accidents

ATTORNEY:

Becky Goddard reported on the following:

AT&T would like the board to approve the specs on the lease agreement. Matt Wittenborn looked it over and after speaking with him he suggested that they have a representative from AT&T come to the next meeting to go over what will be done.

Debby Shufflebarger brought up the property at 306 E. Owen and would like to get this advertised and sold as quickly as possible. Becky will see what needs to be done.

CLERK:

Judy King reported on the following:

Judy presented Salary Ordinance #2022-12-28 for approval. A motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Mike Rowe to approve Salary Ordinance #2022-12-28.

PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

OLD BUSINESS

Debby received an estimate for the sign on U.S. 41 (NuJoy) for \$28,000.00. The discussion was this is too much money to spend and to scale this back.

A motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Debby Shufflebarger to approve the minutes from December 14th, 2022.

A motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Mike Rowe to approve the claims.

A motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Mike Rowe to approve the financial statement.

NEW BUSINESS

Julian Elson, Police Chief resigned effective December 26th, 2022. Julian has coverage through January 2nd, 2023. Jamie Wirtz submitted a resume and has shown interest in the position. Jamie has worked for the Town in a part time capacity for the police department. A motion was made Debby Shufflebarger and seconded by Mike Rowe to appoint Jamie Wirtz as Police Chief.

Being no further business, a motion was made by James Sammons and seconded by Debby Shufflebarger to adjourn.

| Debby Shufflebarger, President | David Michael Rowe, Member |
|---------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| | Attest: |
| Chandlor Weiss-Brinkman, Member | Judy M. King, Clerk/Treasurer |